Saturday, 17 May 2014

Khaire registers record victory

For the first time, the Election Commission of India (ECI) had allowed none-of-the-above (NOTA) option. A total of 200 NOTA votes were recorded in the first round and their figure went up to 6,370 in the end. 25 candidates lose deposit. As per the election norms, the deposit of a candidate is seized if he/she fails to secure 12.5 per cent (1.10 lakh target) out of the total valid votes polled (9.82 lakh) in the election. The deposit amount for open candidate was Rs 25,000 and for a reserve candidate it was Rs 12,500. There were 27 candidates in the fray. Of them, deposits of 25 got seized. They include Subhash Lomte (AAP), Indrakumar Jewrikar (BSP) and Adv Sadashiv Gayake (SP). Others whose deposit got seized belong to Bahujan Mukti Party, Ambedkar National Congress, Prabudha Republican Party, Garib Aadmi Party, Welfare Party of India.  
In 2009, deposits of 19 candidates, out of 22, were forfeited as they had failed to secure at least 90,000 votes (12.5 pc) of the total valid votes (7.12 lakh). Chandrakant Khaire of Shiv Sena today scripted a record by winning the Aurangabad Lok Sabha seat for the fourth consecutive time with an unassailable lead of 1.62 lakh votes.  He secured 5.20 lakh votes, while his nearest rival and Congress candidate Nitin Patil got 3.58 lakh votes. 
The fate of 27 candidates was sealed in the Aurangabad constituency on April 24. Out of the total 15.86 lakh voters, 9.82 lakh cast their votes, registering 62 per cent polling. Indrakumar Jewrikar of BSP got 37,412 votes, while Subhash Lomte (AAP) received 11,969 votes and Adv Sadashiv Gayake (SP) had to be contented with 2,646 votes.  Amid tight security and supervision of central election observer Shalini Mishra and returning officer Vikram Kumar, the counting of votes began at 8 am sharp. After postal ballots, the counting of votes recorded in EVMs (assembly constituency-wise) started at 84 tables (14 tables for each assembly constituency). 
The result of the first round was out by 8.30 am, wherein Khaire (21,087) was ahead of Nitin Patil (20,152) by a slender margin of 935 votes. His margin started to multiply and ultimately the Congress candidate failed to succeeded in breaking it until the last round.

No comments:

Post a Comment