Saturday, 17 May 2014

Khaire registers record victory

For the first time, the Election Commission of India (ECI) had allowed none-of-the-above (NOTA) option. A total of 200 NOTA votes were recorded in the first round and their figure went up to 6,370 in the end. 25 candidates lose deposit. As per the election norms, the deposit of a candidate is seized if he/she fails to secure 12.5 per cent (1.10 lakh target) out of the total valid votes polled (9.82 lakh) in the election. The deposit amount for open candidate was Rs 25,000 and for a reserve candidate it was Rs 12,500. There were 27 candidates in the fray. Of them, deposits of 25 got seized. They include Subhash Lomte (AAP), Indrakumar Jewrikar (BSP) and Adv Sadashiv Gayake (SP). Others whose deposit got seized belong to Bahujan Mukti Party, Ambedkar National Congress, Prabudha Republican Party, Garib Aadmi Party, Welfare Party of India.  
In 2009, deposits of 19 candidates, out of 22, were forfeited as they had failed to secure at least 90,000 votes (12.5 pc) of the total valid votes (7.12 lakh). Chandrakant Khaire of Shiv Sena today scripted a record by winning the Aurangabad Lok Sabha seat for the fourth consecutive time with an unassailable lead of 1.62 lakh votes.  He secured 5.20 lakh votes, while his nearest rival and Congress candidate Nitin Patil got 3.58 lakh votes. 
The fate of 27 candidates was sealed in the Aurangabad constituency on April 24. Out of the total 15.86 lakh voters, 9.82 lakh cast their votes, registering 62 per cent polling. Indrakumar Jewrikar of BSP got 37,412 votes, while Subhash Lomte (AAP) received 11,969 votes and Adv Sadashiv Gayake (SP) had to be contented with 2,646 votes.  Amid tight security and supervision of central election observer Shalini Mishra and returning officer Vikram Kumar, the counting of votes began at 8 am sharp. After postal ballots, the counting of votes recorded in EVMs (assembly constituency-wise) started at 84 tables (14 tables for each assembly constituency). 
The result of the first round was out by 8.30 am, wherein Khaire (21,087) was ahead of Nitin Patil (20,152) by a slender margin of 935 votes. His margin started to multiply and ultimately the Congress candidate failed to succeeded in breaking it until the last round.

DMIC: Govt releases another instalment of Rs.75 crore-News-LT

The government has released yet another instalment of Rs 75 crore to the district administration on Saturday to pay compensation to those farmers whose land was acquired for the ambitious Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC). Earlier, the government had released two installments of Rs 100 crore and Rs 150 crore. Farmers of Bidkin, along with four other villages, will get a total compensation of Rs 1,314 crore in installments. 
"The first instalment of Rs 100 crore has already been disbursed among farmers, while the disbursement of the second instalment of Rs 150 crore will start from Monday onwards," land acquisition officer Sambhaji Adkune said, adding that so far the district administration has received Rs 325 crore out of the total Rs 1,314 crore, while the remaining amount is expected to be received soon. 
In all, 2,351 hectares of land in the five villages, namely Bidkin, Nilajgaon, Nandalgaon, Bannitanda and Banglatanda, was acquired at the rate of Rs 23 lakh per acre. The administration had sent a proposal for the compensation to the industry department much before starting the land acquisition process, which was sanctioned in February. However, disbursement of compensation got delayed due to the enforcement of the model code of conduct for the Lok Sabha elections. The industry department had sent the first instalment of Rs 100 crore to the district administration at March-end and Rs 150 crore after 15 days. On Friday, the administration received the third instalment of Rs 75 crore.