Wednesday, 1 May 2013

Women power in standing panel.

The new standing committee of the Aurangabad Municipal Corporation (AMC) will be dominated by women, five out of eight new members nominated today being women. Elections were held during the special general body meeting today. 
The committee comprises 16 members. It already has three women members and with addition of the five new members, 50 per cent of the members will now be women, which might prompt political parties to field women candidates for the election of the committee chairperson to be held on June 2. The leader of opposition Zafar Ahmed Khan submitted the nominations of Satyabhama Damodhar Shinde, Firdaus Fatema and Mir Hidayat Ali (Congress) and Parveen Qaiser Khan (NCP) on behalf of the United Democratic Front (UDF). 
On behalf of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), Girjaram Halnor nominated the names of Preeti Totla and Jagdish Siddh (Shiv Sena), Urmila Chitte (BJP) and Surendra Kulkarni (independents). The saffron alliance nominations include two females and two males. Mayor Kala Ozha ordered municipal secretary O C Shirsaat to read out the names of all nominees. Municipal commissioner H S Kamble was present. 
According to political experts, the anti-MP Chandrakant Khaire group succeeded in grabbing seats for their nominees. MLC Kishanchand Tanwani, MLA Sanjay Shirsaat and district Sena chief Ambadas Danve seem to have played a vital role in choosing the new members. The saffron alliance ditched all the veteran members and nominated fresh faces. The opposition alliance also fielded three new women members but retained one loyal male corporator.
The old members (as they were elected in April 2012) who will continue working in the standing committee are Vikas Jain and Prajakta Rajput (SS), Narayan Kuche and Savita Ghadamode (BJP), Agha Khan (Ind), Samir Rajurkar (SPA), Neelatai Jagtap (NCP) and Mohd Mujeeboddin (Cong). 

No comments:

Post a Comment